NOTICE OF CANDIDATES AND SPECIAL QUESTIONS TO BE VOTED ON AT THE GENERAL ELECTION, NOVEMBER 5, 2024 **EDWARDS COUNTY, KANSAS**

I, the undersigned County Clerk of Edwards County, Kansas, in accordance with K.S.A. 25-105, do hereby certify the following list of candidates for the various nominations made by each political party of this state.

NATIONAL, STATE AND DISTRICT

United States Presidential Electors for President and Vice-President

Kamala D. Harris and Tim Walz, 435 N. Kenter Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90049 and Saint Paul, MN, Democratic

Donald J. Trump and JD Vance, 1100 S. Ocean Blvd., Palm Beach, FL 33480 and Cincinnati, OH, Republican

Chase Oliver and Mike ter Maat, 2400 Henderson Mill Court NE, Atlanta, GA 30345 and Kinsale, VA, Libertarian

Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and Nicole Shanahan, 84 Croton Lake Road, Katonah, NY 10536 and Portola Valley, CA, independent

United States Representative, District 4

Esau Freeman, 12030 N. Broadway, Sedgwick, KS 67135, Democratic

Ron Estes, Wichita, KS 67278

Mailing: PO Box 782952, Wichita, KS 67278, Republican

State Senator, District 33

Matthew Westenfeld, 414 S Workman, Lyons, KS 67554, Democratic

Tory Marie Blew, 259 NE 30 Ave, Great Bend, KS 67530

Mailing: PO Box 103, Great Bend, KS 67530, Republican

State Representative, District 115

Gary White, 411 W 13th, Ashland, KS 67831

Mailing: PO Box 674, Ashland, KS 67831, Republican

State Representative, District 122

Lon E. Pishny, 545 S. Towns Blvd, Garden City, KS 67846, Republican

District Magistrate Judge, District 24, Position 1

Ken Schmidt, 325 W. 5th St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

COUNTY

County Commissioner, District 2

Billy L. Brokar, 817 E. 2nd St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

County Commissioner, District 3

Lyle D. Schuette, 925 E. 5th St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

County Clerk

Gina L. Schuette, 925 E. $5^{\mbox{th}}$ St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

County Treasurer

Lana Sexton, 336 W. 5th St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

Register of Deeds

Melinda Habiger, 726 E. 3rd St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

Mark Frame, 403 E. 8th St., Kinsley, KS 67547, Democratic

County Sheriff

Bryant Kurth, 107 N. Locust St., Offerle, KS 67563, Republican

TOWNSHIP Belpre Township

Township Trustee

Seth Filbert, 1045 300th Ave, Macksville, KS 67557, Republican

Township Treasurer Insufficient nominations

Franklin Township

Township Trustee

Chester Smith, 1974 Main St, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

Troy D. Nelson, 1566 210th Ave, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

Jackson Township

Kinsley Township

Township Trustee Insufficient nominations

Township Treasurer Insufficient nominations

Township Trustee

LeRoy Konrade, 918 J Rd., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

Township Treasurer Cynthia S. Craft, 893 N Rd., Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

Lincoln Township

Township Trustee

Benjamin Wheaton, 2149 270th Ave, Haviland, KS 67059, Republican

Township Treasurer

Dennis L. Dutton, 3033 M Rd, Macksville, KS 67557

Mailing: PO Box 306, Macksville, KS 67557, Republican

Logan Township

<u>Township Trustee</u>

Insufficient nominations Township Treasurer

Insufficient nominations

North Brown Township

South Brown Township

Township Trustee

Rodney Strate, 1521 M Rd, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

Township Treasurer

Michael A. Bowman, 1450 River Road, Kinsley, KS 67547, Republican

Township Trustee

Randall M. Kelly, 1845 X Rd, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

Township Treasurer

Lester W. Derley, 2220 170th Ave., Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

Township Trustee

Bret Lancaster, 1785 20th Ave, Offerle, KS 67563, Republican

Township Treasurer

Insufficient nominations

Trenton Township

Wayne Township

Township Trustee

Scott Divis, 1246 170th Ave, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

<u>Township Treasurer</u> Ron Gruber, 111 Lewis St., Lewis, KS 67552

Mailing: PO Box 176, Lewis, KS 67552, Republican

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR JUDGE

Shall SARAH E. WARNER, Lenexa, Position No. 4, be retained in office? YES OR NO

Shall DAVID E. BRUNS, Olathe, Position No. 6, be retained in office? YES OR NO

Shall G. GORDON ATCHESON, Overland Park, Position No. 8, be retained in office? YES OR NO Shall KAREN ARNOLD-BURGER, Olathe, Position No. 9, be retained in office? YES OR NO

Shall RACHEL L. PICKERING, Topeka, Position No. 10, be retained in office? YES OR NO

Shall ANGELA D. COBLE, Salina, Position No. 12, be retained in office? YES OR NO

Shall KATHRYN GARDNER, Topeka, Position No. 14, be retained in office? YES OR NO

QUESTION SUBMITTED EDWARDS COUNTY, KANSAS

Shall the Board of County Commissioners of Edwards County, Kansas, impose a 0.375% additional countywide sales tax for the purpose of financing economic development initiatives, changing the primary funding source from property tax to sales tax? Said sales tax to be effective on the first calendar quarter after statutory requirements have been most

YES OR NO

QUESTION SUBMITTED USD NO. 502 EDWARDS COUNTY, KANSAS

Shall Unified School District No. 502, Edwards County, Kansas, Lewis Elementary School, establish a system of public recreation pursuant to K.S.A. 12-1925, independent of the City of Lewis, which shall, through a recreation commission, have the authority to operate programs and services of recreation, and shall further, through USD No. 502, have the authority to acquire and maintain equipment, buildings, and or/ other recreation facilities, and levy an annual tax not exceeding one (1) mill for such system, under Kansas Law? (Statutes: 12-1924, K.S.A. 12-1925, K.S.A. 12-1926)
YES OR NO

Pursuant to the foregoing, I hereby give notice that a General Election will be held on the 5th day of November 2024. At this time, candidates from the list shall be elected by the registered voters. Said General Election will be held at the following polling places in Edwards County, Kansas:

Kinsley City Ward 1, Kinsley City Ward 2, Jackson Township, Kinsley Township, Logan Township, South Brown Township and North Brown Township Fair Building, Kinsley
Belpre City, Belpre Township and Lincoln Township
Community Hall, Belpre

Offerle City and Trenton Township Kinsley Offerle Elementary School, Offerle

Lewis City, Franklin Township and Wayne Township Lewis City Building, Lewis

The above polling places will open at 7:00 A.M. and remain open until 7:00 P.M.

Prior to November 5, 2024, election day, voters may vote early on an advanced ballot by mail or in person in the County Clerk's Office. A voter is allowed to complete an "application to vote by an advanced ballot" by requesting in one of the three following ways (1) making an application for a ballot for him/herself (2) receiving assistance by another person completing an application and receiving a ballot for a voter that is sick, disabled or illiterate or (3) a person with a permanent illness or physical disability may apply for permanent advanced voter status and will automatically receive advance ballots.

In testimony whereof I hereby set my hand and seal this 13th day of September 2024.

S:/ Gina L. Schuette Edwards County Election Officer